Two Icelandic CrossFit Games Veterans Competing at IWF World Championships This Week

The 2017 IWF World Championships begin today with the first athletes taking the platform tomorrow, November 29. The event is on American soil in Anaheim, California. With the top weightlifters from around the world, two athletes might stand out within the CrossFit community.

Thuri Helgadottir and Bjork Odinsdottir, both from Iceland, will be competing this week. Helgadottir, a 4-time CrossFit Games veteran who finished 18th this past year at the Games, is competing in the 58kg weight category. Odinsdottir finished 19th in 2014 and has competed at the Games on a team will compete in the 63kg weight category.

Both athletes are in the B session in their respective weight categories. Helgadottir will compete on Wednesday, November 29, at 10:55am PST (1:55pm EST). Odinsdottir will compete on Thursday, November 30, at 1:55pm PST (4:55pm EST).

This is not the first time CrossFit Games veterans have competed on the world stage against the top weightlifters. 2017 CrossFit Games champion Tia-Clair Toomey competed for Australia during the 2016 Rio Olympics. Other women including Katrin Davidsdottir, Annie Thorisdottir and Sara Sigmundsdottir have also competed at the World Championships in 2015. Helgadottir also competed at the 2015 IWF World Championships.

Leave a Reply