An Interview with Meghan Pellatt

Recently I had the opportunity to interview Meghan Pellatt, current Deadlift and Total USAPL American record holder.

TBBS: First, congratulations on your recent Deadlift and Total USAPL American records at the Rocky Mountain State Games in July. You set those records in the 57kg weight class, a drop from your normal 63kg class. Why did you move to down to 57kg?

KP: It was a strategic move, Jennifer Thompson lifts in the 63kg weight class and with her bench she is completely unbeatable at this point. My coach and I decided I had the best shot at winning the 57kg class and making the World’s team, this year nationals is bigger than ever though so it’s going to be a battle. There are some very strong women competing and should be a very exciting meet.

TBBS: Are you planning to stay at 57kg or was this a temporary change?

KP: Depending on how my body reacts will determine whether or not I stay in this class. The cut was by no means easy but if I can maintain this weight while getting stronger I will stay here as long as I can. Eventually, I will probably return to the 63s a leaner, much stronger lifter.

TBBS: What does a typical day look like for you? Do you work or are you exclusively focused on training?

KP: Oh, I wish my life was exclusively training! Could you imagine how strong I could be? A typical day for me is pretty vanilla, I get up go to work (I nanny), generally I train after for about 2-3 hours get home make my dinner and pack all my food to meet my macros the next day. Weekends are usually a Saturday training session followed by time with friends or family and Sundays I like to do some sort of outdoor activity.

TBBS: What is the next event you are training for?

KP: Right now I am 5 weeks out from USAPL Raw Nationals, which is in Scranton, PA. This year we have over 900 lifters competing from all over the country. I cannot even explain to you how excited I am just to feel the energy in the building, it’s going to be insane!

TBBS: If you were unable to compete in powerlifting tomorrow, what would you do instead?

KP: Well I can’t imagine not being a part of the powerlifting community so I would absolutely continue my coaching but would need to find another competitive outlet.

TBBS: What do you enjoy to do outside of the gym?

KP: There are a great many things I enjoy to do outside of the gym. Above all is, hang out with family. I come from a very close knit Irish background, 4 out of 5 of my sisters live within a 5 mile radius of each other and we get together almost every other night. Aside from the family though, I grew up in the North Country and surrounded by mountains I love getting lost in the woods, going for long hikes, camping, kayaking, snowboarding almost anything outdoors! I also enjoy the occasional craft beer, red wine, or two finger whiskey. I am a woman of simple pleasures, I am lucky enough to say you could put me in almost any situation and I will find a way to enjoy my time.

TBBS: Where can people find you on social media?

KP: You can find me on Instagram (meg_57kg), Facebook (meghan.pellatt) and YouTube.

TBBS: Thank you Meghan for taking time out of your busy schedule to answer some questions today. Good luck next month.