Who Has Qualified for the CrossFit Games So Far?

Mat Fraser and Noah Ohlsen during the Opening Ceremony of the 2018 CrossFit Games. Photo courtesy of CrossFit Inc.
Mat Fraser and Noah Ohlsen during the Opening Ceremony of the 2018 CrossFit Games. Photo courtesy of CrossFit Inc.

The 2019 CrossFit Open is over and video submissions for the top athletes have been submitted. CrossFit HQ will be reviewing the videos throughout April and official invitations for National Champions and the next top 20 worldwide will go out by May 1.

Pending video review, here are the top athletes who have qualified for the CrossFit Games so far (there are still 10 CrossFit Sanctionals remaining). The (*) denotes Games rookies.

Of note, 26 CrossFit Games veterans have qualified on the men’s side while the women will bring back 22 to the Games. Of course, some of these names could change if athletes in the Top 20 decline their invite or decide to go team (Rich Froning, for example). At that time, CrossFit will invite the next athlete on the worldwide leaderboard. If a national champion declines their invite, CrossFit will not backfill their spot.


National Champions

  • Mathew Fraser (USA)
  • Lefteris Theofanidis* (Greece)
  • Bjorgvin Gudmundsson (Iceland)
  • Jean-Simon Roy-Lemaire* (Canada)
  • Uldis Upenieks* (Latvia)
  • Frederik Aegidius (Denmark)
  • Bayden Brown* (Australia)
  • Lukas Hogberg (Sweden)
  • Willy Georges (France)
  • Aleksandar Ilin* (Russia)
  • Jonne Koski (Finland)
  • Elliot Simmonds (United Kingdom)
  • Milosz Staworzynski* (Poland)
  • Agustin Richelme* (Argentina)
  • Adrian Mundwiler (Switzerland)
  • Jason Smith (South Africa)
  • Joshua Wichtrup* (Germany)
  • Luke Fiso* (New Zealand)
  • Gabor Torok* (Hungary)
  • Omar Martinez* (Venezuela)
  • Stefano Migliorini* (Italy)
  • Guilherme Malheiros* (Brazil)
  • Arminas Balevicius* (Lithuania)
  • Darwin Perez* (Mexico)
  • Ant Haynes* (China)

Top 20

  • Jacob Heppner (USA)
  • Cole Sager (USA)
  • George Sterner* (USA)
  • Samuel Cornoyer* (Canada)
  • Rich FroningĀ  (USA)
  • Scott Panchik (USA)
  • Jason Carroll (USA)
  • Zachery Buntin* (USA)
  • Streat Hoerner (USA)
  • Devin Ford* (USA)
  • Travis Mayer (USA)
  • Paul Castillo (USA)
  • Simon Mantyla* (Sweden)
  • Samuel Kwant (USA)
  • Logan Collins (USA)
  • Eric Carmody (USA)
  • Casper Gammelmark* (Denmark)
  • Alex Vigneault (Canada)
  • Jeffrey Adler* (Canada)
  • Dean Linder-Leighton (Australia)

Sanctional Invites

  • Roman Khrennikov (Russia) – Dubai CrossFit Championship
  • Patrick Vellner (Canada) – Wodapalooza CrossFit Festival
  • James Newbury (Australia) – Australian CrossFit Championship
  • Sean Sweeney (USA) – CrossFit Fittest in Cape Town
  • Bronislaw Olenkowicz* (Poland) – CrossFit Strength in Depth


National Champions

  • Sara Sigmundsdottir (Iceland)
  • Kristin Holte (Norway)
  • Jamie Greene (New Zealand)
  • Dani Speegle* (USA)
  • Tia-Clair Toomey (Australia)
  • Carol-Ann Reason-Thibault (Canada)
  • Karin Freyova* (Slovakia)
  • Emma McQuaid* (Ireland)
  • Anna Fragkou* (Greece)
  • Sam Briggs (United Kingdom)
  • Alessandra Pichelli (Italy)
  • Camilla Salomonsson Hellman (Sweden)
  • Gabriela Migala* (Poland)
  • Julie Hougard Nielsen* (Denmark)
  • Laura Horvath (Hungary)
  • Melina Rodriguez* (Argentina)
  • Emilia Leppanen* (Finland)
  • Renata Pimentel* (Brazil)
  • Carmen Bosmans* (Belgium)
  • Carole Castellani* (France)
  • Sara Alicia Fernandez Costas* (Spain)
  • Thelma Christoforou* (Cyprus)
  • Vanessa Wagner* (Austria)
  • Anastasiya Ganina* (Russia)
  • Leonie Henrich* (Netherlands)
  • Alessia Joy Walchli* (Switzerland)
  • Laura Gonzalez-Marin* (Venezuela)
  • Simona Quintana* (Chile)
  • Ganna Almazova* (Ukraine)
  • Brenda Castro (Mexico)

Top 20

  • Annie Thorisdottir (Iceland)
  • Brooke Wells (USA)
  • Amanda Barnhart (USA)
  • Kari Pearce (USA)
  • Mekenzie Riley (USA)
  • Kristine Best* (USA)
  • Katrin Davidsdottir (Iceland)
  • Carolyne Prevost* (Canada)
  • Danielle Brandon* (USA)
  • McKenzie Flinchum* (USA)
  • Jadzia Truszkowski* (Canada)
  • Brooke Haas* (USA)
  • Alexis Johnson (USA)
  • Jacqueline Dahlstrom* (Norway)
  • Chantelle Loehner* (USA)
  • Hayley Murillo* (USA)
  • Feroozeh Saghafi* (USA)
  • Tasia Percevecz (USA)
  • Melissa Doll* (USA)
  • Kristi Eramo (USA)

Sanctional Invites

  • Bethany Shadburne (USA) – Dubai CrossFit Championship
  • Colleen Fotsch* (USA) – Wodapalooza CrossFit Festival
  • Maddie Sturt (Australia) – Australian CrossFit Championship
  • Mia Akerlund* (Sweden) – CrossFit Fittest in Cape Town
  • Thuri Helgadottir (Iceland) – CrossFit Strength in Depth

While you are here, The Barbell Spin is dedicated to providing the best coverage of the CrossFit Games day in and day out. We don’t hide behind a paywall as we think the fan should not have to pay to keep up with the sport they love.

We do, however, have expenses to maintain TheBarbellSpin.com and to continue to expand what we can provide to you, our reader. One of our primary sources of income is the Rogue Fitness affiliate links. By clicking on the link below when making a purchase at RogueFitness.com, we receive a small commission. There is no added cost to you.

Regardless of whether you purchase anything through Rogue, we appreciate your support and will continue to bring you the best in competitive fitness!